The existence of Universitas Muslim Indonesia (UMI) Makassar, has not been shaken as one of the oldest, largest and leading private Islamic universities in Eastern Indonesia. His greatness is seen in the scientific and professional aspects, which are colored by ethics, morals and intellectuals based on Islam. It is not surprising that UMI is still the pride of Muslims in Eastern Indonesia. Also the only private university in Eastern Indonesia that has been ACCREDITED BY INSTUTUTIONS from the government Number: 036/BAN-PT/Ak-I/Ins/III/2008, and UMI is the only private university in Eastern Indonesia entrusted by the government to organize Doctoral Education (S-3).

The birth of UMI originated from the concerns and anxiety of community leaders, scholars and kings in Sulawesi, especially in Makassar, because there were no Islamic universities at that time, while the population was predominantly Muslim. Seeing this fact, and realized by community leaders and scholars in Makassar, that if this condition is allowed to exist, the nation's children in this region (Sulawesi) will be far behind in the field of education, compared to other regions, while the potential of teaching staff in Makassar is sufficient to open a university.

Finally, in mid-1952, the idea of establishing an Islamic university had begun, several community leaders contacted the kings in this area, such as H. Andi Mappanyukki (King of Bone), H. Andi Jemma (King of Luwu) Andi Ijo Karaeng Lalolang (King of Luwu). Gowa) and Pajonga Karaeng Polongbangkeng (a prominent person in the Polongbangkeng area), In addition, the plan was also submitted to the Governor of Sulawesi and the Mayor of Makassar, apparently the idea was welcomed and the kings and government were ready to help realize these noble ideals.

As a follow-up to the plan to open an Islamic higher education institution in Makassar, a body called the "Waqf for the Development of the Indonesian Muslim University" was formed on February 18, 1953, now known as the UMI Waqf Foundation. As the holder of the mandate entrusted as the General Chair: Sutan Muhammad Yusuf Samah, Chairman I; H. Andi Sewang Dg. Muntu, Chair II : Naziruddin Rahmat, General Secretary : Abdul Waris, and Assistant Secretary : Andi Maddaremmeng.

Their worries began to disappear when community leaders, religious scholars and kings (government) in Sulawesi agreed to establish an Islamic higher education institution called "Universitas Muslim Indonesia". The inauguration of the establishment of UMI was carried out in the Makassar Governorate on 23 June 1954 to coincide with 22 Shawwal 1373 H, which was marked by the signing of the Principles of the UMI Founding Charter by K.H. Muhammad Ramly (Council of Masters), La Ode Munarfa (Council of Curators), Sutan Muhammad Yusuf Samah (Board of Waqf) and Chalid Husain (Secretary), witnessed by S.N. Turangan (Deputy Minister of P and K), H. Muhammad Akib (representing the Ministry of Religion), Andi Burhanuddin (representing the Governor of Sulawesi), and Ahmad Dara Syahruddin (Mayor of Makassar).

The name Universitas Muslim Indonesia means a university that fosters Muslims, in Arabic it is called Jamiatul Muslimina Indonesiyah which means a movement that brings together Muslims while in English Moslem University Of Indonesia which means a university owned by Indonesian Muslims.

UMI which is fostered by the UMI Waqf Foundation with its characteristics as an educational and da'wah institution carries broader and heavier duties and responsibilities than just producing graduates, because the education process at UMI provides knowledge and skills according to the disciplines involved, and provides plus value. to their students, through the development of aqidah, Islamic ethics and enlightenment of the heart, as a foundation in navigating the future. Academic activities at UMI have implemented quality assurance standards, according to the standards set by the Government, God willing, UMI will give birth to "UMI" (Excellent, Quality and Islamic) human resources.

The Chancellors of the Indonesian Muslim University from time to time are:

  1. Prof. Mukhtar Lintang (Presidium) [1954 – 1958]
  2. Prof. Abd. Rahman Syihab [1959 – 1965]
  3. Latunrung [1965 – 1967]
  4. Ahmad Dara Syahruddin [1967 – 1970]
  5. H. Ridwan Saleh Mattayang, SH [1971 – 1976]
  6. H. M. Hijaz Yunus, SH [1976 – 1984]
  7. Prof. Dr. H. Abdurahman A. Basalamah, SE, MSi [1984 – 1994]
  8. H. M. Mokhtar Noer Jaya, SE, MSi [1994 – 1998]
  9. Prof. Dr. H. Mansyur Ramly, SE, MSi [1998 – 2003]
  10. Prof. Dr. H. M. Nasir Hamzah, SE, MSi [2003 – 2010]
  11. Prof. Dr. Hj. Masrurah Mokhtar, MA [2010 – 2018]
  12. Prof. Dr. H. Basri Modding, SE.,M.Si. [2018 – sekarang]